One of Life’s Lessons

Hoo boy, this one’s a toughie. My heart just aches for my son today. Two days ago, he turned sixteen. He is a great kid — plays the violin (an “orchadork” as he refers to himself) and ice hockey. He wanted a birthday party – so we held this big birthday bash, invited his hockey and neighbor buddies over and had a great time.

With all the cards, some from out of town relatives, he earned a good amount of money. He bugged me yesterday to let him drive to a store to buy more ammo for his air soft gun (see: role reversals post), but wasn’t able to find what he wanted, so he came home empty-handed. He was intending to go out today to get what he needed.

Last night, he had to go to weight training for hockey. He took his wallet out of his workout shorts and put it on a table in the high school weight room.

And forgot it was there. Until this morning.

Sadly, when we called the high school and spoke to the athletic director, he conducted a search of the area and never found it.

My son is heartbroken, and I don’t blame him. He lost all his birthday money and his temporary permit to drive.  The permit is easily replaceable, but I’m afraid he won’t be getting his money back any time soon. Unless one of the other hockey players or coaches picked it up and took it with him last night, it’s gone. This morning the weight room was swarmed by the high school football players who think all the high school hockey players are complete losers.

Unfortunately, this is one time I have to sit back and allow him to hurt. He’s old enough now to be held responsible for his actions, and he knows I am not going to bail him out and give him the money he lost. As tough a decision this is for me, I need to let him fail in order to let him learn.

He’s a smart kid, a great kid, and I’m sure he will never let something like this happen again.

In the grand scheme of things, I look at it with a “the glass is  still full” frame of mind: he isn’t coming to me this morning and saying “Mom, I accidentally killed someone last night when I chose to drink and drive.”

Yes, he is definitely a great kid.

Leave a Reply

