Why the blog title?

I love backstories. I have spent a lot of time looking at others’ blogs and find myself wondering “Why did they choose that name? What’s the personal connection there?” Some of the names are obvious: “Calliopespen” — well, anyone with a background in history and a passion for writing knows what this title represents — which is a pretty cool connection, since Calliope is my favorite muse too. I wanted to use her name or some variation of her name, but then that would look like I’m copying, and I don’t play that way. Plus, the blogger known as “Calliopespen” seems like one heckuva nice lady!

“Word Nerd’s Blog” sounded boring, a little too flat to me. So, I changed it to “Words from the Nerd”, then wondered if people would think I’m some sort of mathematical geek pining about logarithms and calculus equations. (Well, I didn’t really think they would, but sometimes nerdiness comes complete with a vision of black horn-rimmed glasses, pocket protectors and a solar-powered calculator). No, that really isn’t me either — I couldn’t even count backwards from fifteen minutes without subtraction errors. So out that name went, too.

I’m going to give this blog name a run for its money, mostly because it’s becoming a common theme for me this summer. First, my son has started driving, and it seems that every other day I remind him that “everything can change in a blink of an eye”. Another “blink” reference came from one of my fellow writers at the workshop: “An insurmountable number of blinks” uttered during a read around. I can’t remember exactly what it referred to, but the phrase hung in the air for almost a minute, and continues to dance in front of my eyes.

Lastly, one of the other bloggers wrote about “moments”, and in that writing, he talks about taking a few moments to listen to God speak to us, to look at ourselves “through the eyes of God”. I know that has nothing to do with “blinks”, but it prompted me to respond “A moment to us is a blink of God’s eye”. Which led to the poem “God’s Eye”.

So, there it is again. A series of blinks. Moments captured on paper (electronic or otherwise), to be seen by others. Blinks of an Eye.

How did you come up with your blog’s name?

3 Responses to Why the blog title?

  1. stranglingmymuse says:

    Nice to meet you too! Thanks for adding me to your “Links Worth Visiting.” I’ll add you to my blogroll too.

    –Sandy Ackers
    Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World

  2. stranglingmymuse says:

    I stumbled onto your blog and thought I’d answer your question. The name of my blog may be self-explanatory, but it actually just popped into my head fully formed once I knew I wanted to write about trying to maintain creativity. I think my muse whispered it in my ear.

    –Sandy Ackers
    Strangling My Muse: Struggling to Live a Creative Life in a Stressful World

Leave a Reply

