Lost Long Haired Blues

This one requires some explanation. I was working on a multi-genre project about pediatric cancer. I met a lovely 11-year old girl who was diagnosed at age 6 (on her birthday, even!) with acute lymphoblastic leukemia. When she found out about having to go through extensive chemo, her first reaction was “Am I going to lose all my hair?”

In the grand scheme of things, do dead cells on top of our head really define who we are inside? No.

*******************************************

Woke up this mornin’, took a look in the mirror.
I aint had no warnin’, but oh God, it’s here!

Don’t know when it happened, I really can’t say
But lemme just tell ya…I don’t like it this way!

I got dem

Low down! (Low down!)
Oh no! (Oh no!)
Goin’ bald! (Goin’ bald!)
From Chemo! (From Chemo!)

Hey brother, have you heard the news?
I’m so sad ’cause I lost my long hair blues.

Before it went fallin’, I could comb it all day.
But cancer came callin’ and took it away.

So instead of cryin’, ’bout my hair that’s long gone,
it’s better than dyin’, WHEN I AM FAR TOO YOUNG!

I got dem

Low down! (Low down!)
Oh no! (Oh no!)
Goin’ bald! (Goin’ bald!)
From Chemo! (From Chemo!)

Hey brother, have you heard the news?
I’m so sad ’cause I lost my long hair blues.

I got dem

Low down (Low down)
Oh no (Oh no)
Goin’ bald (Goin’ bald)
From Chemo (From Chemo)

No good (No good)
So sad (So sad)
Damn thing…Makes me feel mad!

I got dem
Lost, Lost, Lost,
Long haired blues

Lost, Lost, Lost,
Long haired blues!

My
Lost, Lost, Lost

MY LOST LONG HAIRED BLUES!!!

Leave a Reply

