Ascension

At times, my life was a landscape,
Designed and defined
By wheat-colored, stilled flat lands
Stretching for endless miles,
along a simple plane.
My life at times was a slow pace
Of gradual ascent
Towards a sandstone plateau
Overlooking impassable peaks and low-lying valleys.
Riverbanks overflowing from tears,
Raged alongside
The soft carpeting of springy, green grass
just beyond my reach,
where lavender-colored flowers bent to the wind’s call
and red-breasted songbirds answered in unabashed celebration.

My life is becoming
A series of jagged,
Roughened, wind-worn edges
Of slips, dips, slides and glides
Along its changing horizons.
The pebbles under my feet –
Small annoyances left behind long ago.
The stones in my shoes –
My burdens along this beaten path.
Boulders – some granite, others made of
weathering sandstone,
Are my constant worries:

Am I good enough?
Am I smart enough?
Am I loved enough?

Navigating this mountain
I remind myself to breathe in deeply
To fill my body with life’s experiences
And oxygen to feed my slowly healing soul.

I scan the horizon above, beside and below me:
Above– the freedom to think, to be, to allow, to accept
Beside– less frequent boulders continue to block  my path ahead
Below– more pebbles and stones awaiting my weary feet

Then will I begin my descent down the other side
Stopping only when my journey ends at the place where
I find that bright, green, spring-filled meadow of
safe, soft grass.
Where I can dance,
Unencumbered and unabashed,
among the yellow buttercups and flittering butterflies,
Bare-footed and finally free.

3 Responses to Ascension

  1. I really liked this poem.

    Am I good enough?
    Am I smart enough?
    Am I loved enough?

    All people our age can identify with this.

    Great poem.

    • wordnerd45 says:

      Thank you, Paul! I consider that a wonderful compliment, coming from someone such as yourself. Nice to meet you and thanks for visiting my site!

      The Nerd

    • wordnerd45 says:

      Oh, I should probably explain that it was a writing prompt I had for a workshop I attended this summer. The prompt was:

      “What does your horizon look like? What’s just beyond your line of vision?”

      I only had ten minutes to come up with this. I am really pleased with how it came out.

Leave a Reply

