Things Seen and Done at The State Fair Today

  • A herd of sheep dressed in white robes and hoods — they looked like four-legged clans members.
  • A cow giving birth — her eyes actually looked like they were screaming. Then, I saw her eat something other than hay, straw, grass, oats, etc. Eww.
  • Watched people ruin perfectly good vegetables by dipping them in fry batter and putting them into grease. I think it’s their way of justifying “getting their 3 servings of veggies per day.”
  • Watched my daughter flinch when she read “Deep fried oreos”. But, stuff her face full of candy all afternoon we had bought in bulk just to save 10% on the cost.
  • Lost sight of my daughter at least 7 times. She magically teleported herself back to us three minutes later each time. I’d like to know where the portal is that allows her to do this. There are some things in my life I’d like to go back and fix.
  • A fake kitten that looked so real I actually had to lean over and touch it, just to see if it were breathing.
  • Twisted or pinched something in my back, giving me instant buttock and leg spasms. Hobbled around for most of afternoon, cursing my daughter’s love of “all things horses”.
  • Ate my weight in “food on a stick”.
  • A parade float made entirely out of duct tape:
A Mardi Gras Parade Float

A Mardi Gras Parade Float

  • A cow and its veterinarian made entirely from butter:
The famous "butter sculpture"

The famous "butter sculpture"

  • A Harry Potter Sorting Hat and Magic Books Cake:
A Harry Potter Cake

A Harry Potter Cake

Oh the things we can see at the state fair!

3 Responses to Things Seen and Done at The State Fair Today

  1. wordnerd45 says:

    Scott: for a “hint” of where I live, you can go to two posts. I feel a little like The Simpsons family, where I can say “If you look closely enough, you can figure it out”:

    “About the Nerd”
    “Who Owns Whom?”

    Let me know your guess. LOL

    The Nerd

  2. wordnerd45 says:

    No pictures — unless you want to see pictures of horses and a calf being born (ewww)

    Food on a stick:
    Corn Dog
    Cheese Squares
    Chocolate Covered Bananas
    etc

    Fried Veggies:
    deep fried pickles (seriously!!!)
    fried mushrooms
    green peppers
    fried onions

    I kid you not, you will find all those things (and more!) at a state fair.

    The Nerd

  3. I’ve never in my life been to a state fair, so I’m not sure if that is the norm or not?? Could you at least tell me what state??? Fried vegetables? I have seen that in TGIF but I thought it was an exception, not a rule. The only food on a stick I’ve ever eaten was grilled kebabs! Do you have pics of all this; for proof??

Leave a Reply

