“Mommy Bloggers”? Where do I sign up?

Sweet whistlin’ Geronimo, I can’t believe what I just read over on CNN.com. Here’s the link:

http://www.cnn.com/2009/TECH/08/10/mommy.bloggers.ethics/index.html

I’ve heard of “soccer moms”, “hockey moms” (I’m one of these — hello son!), “lipstick wearing hockey moms” and “helicopter parents”, but this one’s a new term (or I’ve just had my head tucked too far down into the sand?) “Mommy Blogger”? What the ???

I’m curious to learn how I can jump onto this gravy train. For a few free gadgets, gimmicks, and greenbacks, I’d gladly rent some of my cyberspace out. Let’s face it, the economy is in the toilet anyways, and since I’m in a profession that pays a whole lot of not much, I’ll take extra cash any way I can, so long as it is still “legally obtained” (meaning: nothing against the law or involves nudity or thoroughly debasing myself in front of others).

I’d like to know how moms who blog get hooked up with PR firms that give them sh– stuff. I’m a mom. I’m right in there with the teen demographic — heck I teach the 11-13 year old age group. My finger is right on top of the pulse of this market.

So, where are all these PR firms, standing in line to give me things? I WANT STUFF NOW!!!!! I DESERVE IT!!!!

See? Told you I know exactly what it is like to live with a thirteen year old.

PS: Unfortunately, due to personal beliefs, I am unable to shill any of the following products:

  • perfumes of any kind
  • cell phone companies
  • AXE deodorant
  • purse/handbags of any label
  • shoes of any label
  • any product that has Hanna Montana/Miley Cyrus on it
  • Ed Hardy apparel
  • Products made with Ghost Chili parts
  • Webkinz
  • Erik Estrada memorabilia
  • Adult Diapers/Hygiene Products
  • Big Lots department stores
  • Foods with weird consistencies
  • Chinchillas (just because they’re too cute).

The rest is pretty much up for grabs, folks!

2 Responses to “Mommy Bloggers”? Where do I sign up?

  1. tiddlyompompom says:

    If you find out how to do it let me know!! I believe some people can actually make a living through their blogs – imagine! I just like rambling and if anyone happens to read it and enjoy it then that’s cool. Thanks for your comments on my blog. It’s always good to get feedback, especially when it’s nice :o)

    • wordnerd45 says:

      Well, I put the call out, and nobody answered. So, I must not be the “mommy blogger” type. LOL. Besides, I’m not a big fan of the toddler age, so there are a whole lot of products out there that I’d have to pass on. But, I can certainly shill Ipods and ITunes.

      LOL
      The Nerd

Leave a Reply

