Conversations with My Muse: Gossiping and Privacy Issues

Hi, Nerd! Come on in…I’ve been waiting for you!

Nice place you have here. Thanks for the invite.

You’re welcome. I thought the Greek statue of  Aphrodite out in the front yard was a nice touch.

Yea, that really announces your presence in the neighborhood, huh?

Hey, was that a smart-ass comment?

Remember who you’re talking to.

Oh yea, duhhh.

Okay, so what’s this all about anyways? Why the sudden invite to your place?

I found a little part-time gig and wanted to let you know about it.

Part-time gig? Aren’t you working full time as a muse?

Yea, but that’s mandatory work. This is different — it’s more….fun

I thought you enjoyed your day job. Did something change there?

Naw, I still love my job and all, but it’s become so humdrum.

Humdrum. Huh.

What’s wrong with saying it’s humdrum?

I happen to think otherwise. I love working with you.

Awww, aren’t you a sweetie! And I enjoy being your muse, too. I think we have a really great thing going here. But, I needed more.

Why the need to burn the candle at both ends?

“Burn the candle”? Huh?

That’s another expression. Back before the days of electricity and indoor lighting, folks had to write by candle light. So, when the candle was burning, work was getting done.

But how do you burn it at both ends? How would you stand it up? What about all that wax dripping? Wouldn’t that make a big mess?

You’re over thinking again, muse. This isn’t the time to be so literal, okay?

Okay, I’ll let that one go. Besides, it’s “party” time!

Party? What party?

Oh, I am throwing a little engagement party.

Holy crap, you’re engaged????

Well, not officially. He hasn’t asked yet, but I suspect he has something in the works.

What makes you think that?

Well, he’s been spending a lot of time whispering into his phone, checking his email and updating his Facebook status.

Hmmm…

What’s wrong?

Doesn’t that sound suspicious to you?

Um, okay. Anyways, I just wanted to throw a little pre-engagement, engagement party.

Okay, whatever makes you happy, I guess.

What’s wrong? You sound a little put off here.

Well, I guess I am.

Something tells me you’re about to kill my buzz.

Not really, I “guess” I’m happy for you, but I’m also worried for you too.

Why worried?

I have my reasons.

Fess up, what’s going on here?

Well, I get a bad vibe here with this relationship you’re in. I don’t think you should be jumping into marriage this quickly.

Ouch, that’s kinda harsh.

Well, we’re friends right? Can’t we just talk openly here?

True, but I don’t like the direction this conversation is going. Is there something I should know about here?

I hate to be a gossip.

This isn’t a case of “gossip” around the water cooler, chickie. If you’ve heard something that is going to affect my life personally, you had better tell me now.

Well..not so much “heard” as “feel”.

SPILL IT.

You said he keeps “checking his emails”.

Yea, so?

Have you looked at his emails?

No!!!! Good Gods, that’s an invasion of privacy! I would nev–

Perhaps you should.

What the hell is going on here?

Your name is not any of the following, is it:  Clio, Erato, Euterpe, Melpomene, Polyhymnia, Terpsichore, Thalia, and Urania?

No, no it is not.

Well, then I strongly suggest you check your fiance’s emails.

Ha ha ha!!!

What’s so funny?

Oh man, you’re a hoot.

Hey, I’m trying to protect you here. I don’t think emails to other women are exactly *funny* ya know.

You’re a goofball. Have you even looked at those names?

Yes.

Look again, closer.

Well, they all look Greek in origin.

Yes, and you don’t recognize any of them?

Well…Erato sounds famili- oh! Wasn’t she the bitch who stole your boyfriend back when you went amok in Italy?

Do we need to bring that up again? And yes, yes she did.

Ohhhhh…whoops!

Yes, whoops. Those are my sister muses, doofus. He’s been writing to them to invite them to our upcoming engagement party.

Yikes, my bad. I thought he was cheating on you.

Um no. He’s too great a guy for that. I know where his heart belongs, and it’s with me.

Oh yea?

Yeah. We’re very happy together. I’ve been on Cloud Fifteen for days now.

Don’t you mean “Cloud Nine”?

Naw, I upgraded to Cloud Fifteen. It comes with our own personal butler and spa service. The massages are to die for. Hercules brings his own body oils.

You mean to tell me Hercules is your personal masseuse?

Well, not mine personally..He gets around. All the female immortals request him. Except for Sappho. For some reason, she prefers getting rubbed down by big, burly women.

No duh.

Whatcha gonna do? To each his or her own, ya know?

Okay, so….you really are going to stick with this boyfriend of yours?

Told ya, he’s my life now.

Ya know, a week ago that sounded kinda creepy. Now, not so much. It looks like you’re really serious here.

I am. He’s wonderful. He encourages me to stay on my meds. He says he’s looking out for my best interests.

I can see that — you have a very healthy glow about you these days.

Yea, I’m in love. Okay, ready to come in and meet the others?

Sure, got any green apple vodka? I’m parched.

What’s vodka?

Oh boy, we have so much to talk about, don’t we?

You know it!

4 Responses to Conversations with My Muse: Gossiping and Privacy Issues

  1. calliopespen says:

    Yes, yes I do. Perhaps they could live together first? (but that didn’t come from me…;)

  2. calliopespen says:

    HA HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Too funny!

    • wordnerd45 says:

      Thanks. Do you think my muse is moving too fast towards a marriage, too? She’s like a daughter to me now. There’s no way I would approve this wedding, let alone be the one to walk her down the aisle.

      The Nerd

Leave a Reply

